Run Mom Run Happy

My thoughts on being a mom, runner, wannabe health nut, and everything else.

Winter Trail Frosty – The WTF Half

on April 8, 2016

The Winter Trail Frosty – WTF Half was my second event of 2016.  It took place on February 27, 2016.  I was so happy when 131 Event Productions organized this brand new run!  I had been completely bummed that the Winter Night Trail Marathon had sold out before my lazy self had taken the time to sign up.  It had been one of my favorite events of 2015, and I was really looking forward to doing it again.  Luckily, lots of people were upset about missing out on such an epic event – so 131 Event Productions decided to add in another run to give everyone a second opportunity for winter fun!!

To clear it up right away, yes WTF often stands for something other than Winter Trail Frosty.  This fact seemed to rile a few people up, and they felt the need to complain that they couldn’t sign up for the run because of the name.  Sigh.  To be clear, part of the appeal to me was the name; Where’s The Finish is often on my mind when I run.  And so is what you were thinking…nudge, nudge, wink, wink.  If you don’t like the name, if it doesn’t appeal to you, it’s very simple – don’t sign up.  Find an event that is appealing to you.  There really isn’t a reason to complain and cause a fuss.

LOCATION  / START LINE

The Winter Trail Frosty – WTF Half took place at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis.  There is a $5 required fee to enter the park and parking spots can be limited.  I ended up parking on the side of the road, very close to where we paid to enter.  Luckily the start / finish is only a short walk away and it wasn’t an inconvenience.

WTFStart

There were multiple port-a-potties set up by the Start Line.  Many local running groups had tents set up too.  Runners were released in groups every few minutes apart to prevent bottle-necking on the beginning of the trail, which is slightly narrow.  Music played to pump up the crowd, and as usual, runners are the best kinds of people to be around.

COURSE

This course has been my absolute favorite as I’ve run it before at both the winter and summer night trail events in 2015.  The Winter Trail Frosty was my first time running it in the daylight.  It didn’t disappoint!  The half is a double loop of the trail, and it varies from trail, stones, cement, and grass.  I love changing it up!  Aid stations were conveniently spaced with water and Gatorade.  On the second lap, I believe there were lots of snacks available too – but I didn’t pay too much attention because I wasn’t indulging.  (The only thing I probably would have wanted was m&ms…and my stomach wouldn’t have appreciated it!)

I did go off course a bit as I followed another runner down the wrong trail when it split in two.  That runner, however, happened to not be a part of the race.  Once I realized and turned around, I had added about .8 of a mile to my run.  No biggie, and had I paid attention to the VERY OBVIOUS arrow pointing me in the right direction, I would have been fine.

WTFtopview

One of the disappointing things was the weather.  Don’t get me wrong, it was an absolutely beautiful day.  BUT I was expecting a (as the tagline says) #brutallyawesome event.  40s and sunny wasn’t exactly brutal.  We exchanged frosty for muddy. The second lap was especially slick though, which did definitely add to the fun!

FINISH

The finish is also the start, so it’s very convenient.  Lots of snacks were available after the run too including donuts, bananas, and I believe, cake.  It all looked very good, but my stomach wasn’t feeling it.  I enjoyed some hot chocolate (mixed with cold water – so I guess cold chocolate) and skipped everything else.

Also at the finish?  An awesome, one-of-a-kind medal!  How many medals do you have that are also snow globes?  So cool.  I don’t do anything cool with my medals (they hang in my closet on a hanger) but when I get a rack, this one will be out in front!

WTFmemedal

Overall, obviously, I LOVED this event.  I hope it comes back next year!  131 Event Productions really does a fantastic job, and I look forward to participating in more of their runs this year!


Leave a comment